Between the Lines

Between the Lines

Books without bosses since 1977

Fear of a Black Nation wins The Casa de las Américas Prize

The Casa de las Américas Prize is a Cuban cultural award given by the Casa de las Américas, an organization founded in April 1959. It is one of Latin America’s oldest and most prestigious literary awards. Some of the scholars and writers who have won this prize are, Eduardo Galeano, Edward Kamau Brathwaite, Humberto Costantini, Roque DaltonRenato Prada Oropeza, Susana Rotker, Françoise Perus, Beatriz González-Stephan and Luis Brito Garcia.

The jury of Lasana M. Sekou (Saint Martin), Pablo Armando Fernández (Cuba), and María Teresa Ortega (Cuba) unanimously award the Casa de las Americas Prize in Caribbean Literature in English or Creole to Fear of a Black Nation: Race, Sex, and Security in Sixties Montreal, by David Austin.

This is an authoritative study that extends into Canada, into the XXI Century, and the complex concepts and integrated historical realities of “nuestro Caribe” (“Our Caribbean”), “Nuestra América” (“Our America”) and “Black Power”. Here the popular and democratic activism and the radicalism of the sixties converge to reveal an unknown Canada.

Posted February 27th, 2014

« CHRY radio interview with “Who’s Afraid of the Black Blocs?” author Francis Dupuis-Déri

Unlikely Radicals is the 2013 Speaker’s Book Award winner! »

Connect with Between the Lines